Aviation Non-Destructive Inspection Technician

With the remarkably broad range of technologies used for inspection, Aviation Non-Destructive Inspection Technicians must truly be tech junkies.

These specialists perform excruciatingly detailed inspections of aircraft structures, engines, and components to determine structural integrity. Non-Destructive Inspection Technicians may not certify the airworthiness of aircraft, but they are responsible for certifying the serviceability of tested parts under the AMO authority, of documents inspections performed, and of the disposition of these parts.

Typical nondestructive testing methods include radiography (x-ray and gamma ray technology), magnetic particle technology, ultrasonic (the same technology as the ultrasound at the hospital), liquid penetrant, eddy current, leak testing, acoustic emission, visual examination, and more specialized methods like microwave, laser, liquid crystal, holography, infraredthermal, computed tomography, and neutron radiography. Experience working with elaborate composites and exotic metals is also fast becoming a requirement.

As an Aviation Non-Destructive Inspection Technician, you could be involved in any number of tasks and responsibilities including research, design, manufacturing and maintenance. If you know someone who has an uncontrollable passion for knowing all there is to know about the latest tech advances and gadgetry, then chances are good that he or she would make a great Aviation Non-Destructive Inspection Technician.

Job Titles

Some of the job titles available in this occupation include:

  • Aircraft Non-Destructive Technician Operator
  • Non-Destructive Inspection Technician

Career Pathways

  • Completion of Secondary School is required.
  • Specialty training courses in each of the nondestructive
       inspection technologies is required.
  • A Transport Canada Aircraft Maintenance Engineer License
       can be advantageous.

Career Opportunities are available at major airlines, aviation maintenance and overhaul companies, aircraft manufacturers, and aerospace organizations.


Certification is available through CAMC, the Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB), and through an internal certificate program called NAS 410.

CAMC Certification:
Applicants must have acquired the minimum required work experience to qualify for CGSB level II for each method for which he/she is seeking certification. This is described in the CAN/CGSB-48.9712 (certification of nondestructive personnel) manual. Applicant may seek CAMC certification for one or more NDI methods.

Note: CAMC recognizes completion of a CAMC-accredited Aviation Non-Destructive Inspection course as part of the minimum trade requirements. Credit is given on a month-for-month basis. Depending on the nondestructive method employed an applicant may be required to complete a Canadian General Standards Board (C.G.S.B.) Industrial Radiographers examination. In addition, applicants may be required to complete an Ultrasonic and Eddy Current (C.G.S.B.) certification.